Menu Search

For enquiries and bookings, call us on 01603 251730

Members of the Serious Violence Taskforce announced

It will consist of 24 members from across the voluntary sector, local government, police and other key sectors to ensure the strategy is delivered effectively.

The membership of the taskforce will be:

  • The Home Secretary
  • Minister for Crime, Safeguarding and Vulnerability, Victoria Atkins
  • Minister for Policing and the Fire Service, Nick Hurd
  • Minister for Children and Families, Nadhim Zahawi
  • Minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries, Margot James
  • Member of Parliament for Tottenham, Rt Hon David Lammy MP
  • Member of Parliament for Streatham, Chuka Umunna MP
  • Member of Parliament for Chingford and Woodford Green, Rt Hon Iain Duncan Smith MP
  • Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police, Cressida Dick
  • National Police Chiefs Council Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Duncan Ball
  • Director-General of the National Crime Agency, Lynne Owens
  • Mayor of London, Sadiq Kha
  • Chair of the Association of Police and Crime Commissioners, David Lloyd
  • Chief Executive of the Big Lottery Fund, Dawn Austwick
  • Children’s Commissioner, Anne Longfield
  • Chief Executive of Public Health Wales, Dr Tracey Cooper
  • Chief Executive of Public Health England, Duncan Selbie
  • Local Government Association, Councillor, Simon Blackburn
  • CEO of the Ben Kinsella Trust, Patrick Green
  • CEO of Redthread, John Poyton
  • Head of Gangs SOS project for St Giles Trust, Junior Smart
  • CEO of Onside Youth Zones, Kathryn Morley
  • Chief Operating Officer of Catch 22, Naomi Hulston
  • Knife crime campaigner and Member of Parliament for Enfield North (2010-2015), Nick de Bois


The strategy identifies the changing drugs market – in particular the devastating impact of crack cocaine – as a key driver of the violence, and announces a range of powerful actions to tackle the issue of ‘county lines’ and its implications for drugs, violence and exploitation of vulnerable people. That includes £3.6 million to establish a new National County Lines Co-ordination Centre.